Fair Housing

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


The Fair Housing Act prohibits the denial of housing to a person based on the person's membership in one or more of the classes protected under the Act. The Protected classes are:

  • Race or color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial status (including children under the age of 18 living with parents or legal custodians; pregnant women and people securing custody of children under 18)
  • Disability

It is therefore illegal to discriminate against a person in the provision of housing because of a person's membership in a protected class in the following situations:

  • the sale or rental of housing;
  • the terms, conditions, privileges of sale or rental, or provision of services or facilities in connection with the sale or rental of most housing;
  • the advertising of a sale or rental of housing;
  • the representation of the availability of housing for rental or sale;
  • the provision of reasonable modifications to a dwelling for persons with a disability at their expense when necessary for the full use and enjoyment of the dwelling;
  • the provision of reasonable accommodations to the rules, policies, practices, or services related to a dwelling when necessary to provide persons with a disability the equal opportunity to use and enjoy the dwelling;
  • the financing or refinancing of housing; and 
  • the provision of real estate brokerage services. 

In addition, it is illegal to coerce, intimidate, threaten or interfere with a person seeking to exercise rights under the Fair Housing Act.

 For more information click here