Extra Help with Medicare Part D

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Extra Help Program – or the Low-Income Subsidy (LIS) – helps qualified Medicare recipients pay for their Medicare prescription drug program costs, such as premiums, deductibles and coinsurance.

It’s important to consider that any level of assistance provides:
• Elimination of a Part D coverage gap (donut hole)
• The opportunity to change Prescription Drug Plans at any time
• A reduced Part D deductible
• A reduced Part D copay
• A reduced cost of the drugs
• Elimination of a Late Enrollment Penalty if, when you apply for LIS, you haven’t already signed up for a Part D plan

People who qualify for full Extra Help/LIS assistance will also receive these benefits:

• No Part D premium, based on plan selection
• No Part D deductible
• The lowest Part D copays, ranging from $3.00 up to $8.00

Eligibility guidelines for LIS are based on income and assets and change from year to year. The 2016 eligibility guidelines for this type of assistance are:

Limits for an individual:
Income of less than – $1,485 per month; and Assets less than – $13,640.00

Limits for a married couple:
Income of less than – $2,002.50 per month; and Assets less than – $27,250.00

Assets that are NOT counted in determining eligibility are your home, car and burial assets of up to $1,500 in value per person.

How to apply:

You will need to have the following documentation with you as you apply:
• Social Security card;
• bank account statements, including checking, savings, and certificates of deposit;
• Individual Retirement Accounts (IRAs), stocks, bonds, savings bonds, mutual funds, other investment statements;
• tax returns;
• payroll slips; and
• your most recent Social Security benefits award letters or statements for Railroad Retirement benefits, Veterans Benefits, pensions and annuities.

There are two ways to apply:

1. You may apply by going to the Social Security Administration’s website and filling out the application yourself.

Social Security Administration Medicare Part D LIS Application (Click Here)


2. Call SHIIP, the Seniors’ Health Insurance Information Program, 1-855-408-1212, on weekdays between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. for assistance completing the application. Applications are processed and eligibility is determined by the Social Security Administration. SSA will notify you if you qualify for assistance and, if you do, at what level.

 

 Piedmont Triad SHIIP Coordinators by County 

 

 County  Contact Site  Couny  Contact Site
 Alamance                Judy Whitfield
jwhitfield@ci.burlington.nc.us
336.222.5135
Caswell 
Jeannine Everidge
jeveridge@caswellcountync.gov

336.694.7447

 Davidson Karina Camp 
karinac@medicalministries.org
336.243.7475
 Davie Teresa Stovall
Teresa.Stovall@co.davie.nc.us

336.753.6230

 Forsyth Sam Matthews
smatthews@shepherdscenter.org
336.748.0217
 Guilford Bob Boyd

shiip@senior-resources-guilford.org
336.373.4816

 Montgomery

Theresa Thomas
seniorcenter@troy.nc.us
910.572.4464
 Randolph      
Margie DiDona
rcsaa2@senioradults.org

336.625.3389

 Rockingham Cindy Baynes
cbaynes@ci.reidsville.nc.us
336.349.1088
 Stokes Darlene Nelson
dbnelson@co.stokes.nc.us

336.593.8156

 Surry Carmen Long
carmen_long@ncsu.edu

336.401.8025 (Ask for Shiip)